The SHU-UTseuS Master’s degree in Mechatronics, coming shortly

UTseuS is the Franco-Chinese engineering training program, a strong partnership that has been forged over the ten past years. Created by the network of French Universities of Technology (UTs) and the University of Shanghai (SHU), this partnership is equally pioneering and unique in the fields of training and research. Most recent is the creation of a Master's degree in "mechatronics".

The SHU-UTseuS Master’s degree in Mechatronics, coming shortly

The Sino-European Technology University (UTSeuS) of the Shanghai University (SHU) trains more than 1,200 Chinese, French and European students each year in an international and multicultural setting. At the end of October 2018, Donghan Jin, President of Shanghai University in China, came to UTC-Compiegne to participate in the launching of a new Master's degree program recognized in China and France. This was an opportunity to strengthen UTseuS cooperation initiated in 2005.

Indeed, UTseuS allows, thanks to the many possibilities of mobility, to train Chinese engineers to meet the needs of French companies exporting to China and to train French engineers to become competent on the Chinese labour market, while acquiring new working methods and adding a strong international dimension to their careers. "Last July, we signed an Agreement between Shanghai University (SHU) and the three Universities of Technology (UTBM, UTC, UTT), enabling the creation of a new Master's degree at UTseuS. The first class of students for this Master's degree should be welcomed at the start of the September 2021 academic year. We are expecting 100 students per class, 25 French students from the three UTs and 75 Chinese", announces Marc Bondiou, French director of the UTseuS.

Living 1 ½ years in Shanghai

The proposed new Master's degree in "Mechatronics" also corresponds to the creation, in 2019, of a research axis in data science for cyber-physical s y s t e m s . Once the pedagogical m o d e l and the associated economic model had been validated, all that was missing was the official accreditation granted by the Chinese Ministry of Education, which has just been communicated to us in March 2020. The next step will be the visit to Shanghai of the French equivalent Commission for Engineering Titles (CTI), which will endorse the admission of this training by the French State, allowing its holders to bear the title of engineer. The chosen field - mechatronics - corresponds to a discipline on the borderline between mechanics and electronics, with a large part of signal and information processing. For French students, it will be a real immersion in a city of international dimension.

"Shanghai and its 25 million inhabitants attract some of the world's largest companies, including Suez, Engie, Safran, PSA, Dassault Systèmes, Valeo and many others. Students will have access to Mandarin classes and will be very well received," emphasizes Marc Bondiou. “For everyone, French and Chinese alike, this is an opportunity to start great careers with leading Chinese or French companies, not to mention simply discovering the other”.

Le master UTseuS de SHU en mécatronique, c'est pour bientôt

UTseuS est le programme franco-chinois de formation d’ingénieurs, un partenariat fort tissé depuis plus de dix ans. Créé par le réseau des universités de technologie françaises et l'université de Shanghai, ce partenariat est tout autant précurseur et unique dans les domaines de la formation et de la recherche. Dernière nouveauté : la création d'un master en « mécatronique ».

Le master UTseuS de SHU en mécatronique, c'est pour bientôt

L'université de technologie sino-européenne de Shanghai (UTseuS) forme chaque année plus de 1 200 étudiants chinois, français et européens dans un cadre international et multiculturel. Fin octobre 2018, Donghan Jin, président de l’université de Shanghai en Chine, était d’ailleurs à l’UTC pour participer au lancement d’un nouveau programme en master reconnu en Chine et en France. L’occasion de renforcer UTseuS, la coopération universitaire sino-française initiée en 2005.

L’UTseuS permet en effet, grâce aux nombreuses possibilités de mobilité, de former des ingénieurs chinois aux besoins des entreprises françaises qui s’exportent en Chine et de former des ingénieurs français à devenir compétents sur le marché du travail chinois, tout en acquérant de nouvelles méthodes de travail et en ajoutant une forte dimension internationale à leur carrière. « En juillet dernier, nous avons pu signer, entre l’université de Shanghai (SHU) et les trois universités de technologie (UTBM, UTC, UTT), la convention de création d’un nouveau master d’UTseuS. La première promotion d’étudiants de ce master devrait être accueillie à la rentrée de septembre 2021. Nous attendons 100 étudiants par promotion, 25 Français issus des trois UT et 75 Chinois », annonce Marc Bondiou, directeur français de l’UTseuS.

Vivre un an et demi à Shanghai

Le nouveau master proposé en « mécatronique » correspond aussi à la création en 2019 d’un axe de recherche en science des données pour les systèmes cyber-physiques. Une fois la maquette pédagogique et le modèle économique a s s o c i é validés, il ne manquait plus que l'accréditation accordée par le ministère de l'Education chinois qui vient de nous être communiquée en mars 2020. L’étape ultérieure sera la visite à Shanghai de la commission des titres d’ingénieurs (CTI) qui visera à l’admission par l’État français de cette formation, permettant à ses titulaires de porter le titre d’ingénieur. Le domaine choisi – mécatronique – correspond à une discipline à la frontière de la mécanique et de l’électronique, avec une importante part de traitement du signal et de l’information. Pour les étudiants français, ce sera une vraie immersion dans une ville de dimension internationale.

« Rappelons que Shanghai et ses 25 millions d’habitants attirent les plus grandes entreprises mondiales et françaises notamment, parmi lesquelles Suez, Engie, Safran, PSA, Dassault Systèmes, Valeo et bien d’autres. Les étudiants auront accès à des cours de mandarin et seront très bien accueillis, souligne Marc Bondiou. Pour tous, Français comme Chinois c’est l’opportunité de démarrer ensuite de belles carrières auprès d’entreprises chinoises ou françaises de premier plan, sans parler de la simple découverte de l’autre. »