Portraits

She chose the world as her challenge

Sabine Beslay, based in Shanghai, is Senior Manager for Project Engineering covering the Asia-Pacific Region for BASF. She graduated from UTC in the elective specialty Process Engineering and we invited her to comment on her rich professional track-record including numerous stays abroad.

She chose the world as her challenge

Back in her high school and college days, science and technical classes were her preferred courses. Sabine Beslay chose to do engineering because of its concrete contents with rapidly visible results, so she registered at UTC in 1985 and chose the elective Process Engineering.

To tell the truth, chemistry was not my favourite area, but it had the advantage of opening doors to a future engineering career”, she notes. What she like above all at Compiegne was the polyvalent training students get there and the practical orientation towards operations tasks and design of production units – technical draughtsman work and handling of spatial problems.

 Intellectual and human opportunities

“I have excellent recollections of UTC both in terms of the training received and also from a human point of view. UTC ensures you gain an independent mind and it teaches a rigorous approach to work”, sums up Sabine. She then insists on the variety of themes and subjects covered at UTC that allowed her to acquire a large range of skills and knowledge without being dissipated. Numerous corporate internships during the cursus were seen as highly value adding experiences and useful for her future professional career. Direct application of her new academic knowledge was very appealing:

“My preferred courses were in the lab and workshop sessions where we were invite to directly develop and complete full-projects”.  

The UTC “melting pot” saw students form all sorts of cursus, social; backgrounds and nationalities mix together. “This led to a certain opening of the mind which you need if you want to work in international affairs”. Another strong point of her 3 ½ year stay at Compiegne was the stimulating atmosphere without an exacerbated sensation of competing with each other. “Contrary to what happens in other major engineering schools in France, UTC students have both time to do their studies and enjoy their leisure-time too.” 

A truly international career

Graduating from UTC in 1989, Sabine Beslay began her professional career as a process engineer in Rhône-Poulenc (later Sanofi) factory in the Lyon area, producing silica with its numerous industrial applications. “In Lyon, I was faced with a wide range of tasks to accomplish and I had to use what I learned in my course work and also what I learned “in the field”, recalls Sabine, who is now responsible for a geographic area as large as Europe. Autonomy, challenges, short and mid-term projects, turned those early days into a background of moments of passion which marked the rest of her career. “The links and exchanges with both colleagues at work and with our customers gave me lots of opportunities to travel. Thereafter I have also tried to avoid getting into a dull routine and am always looking for new challenges”.

After working for a while in England, Sabine Beslay was appointed to the Middle Empire in the early 2000 years, again with Aventis. Her first contact with China played an important role in her decision to prolong her stay there. “I began at Hangzhou, in a splendid setting which is so different from the gigantic, noisy Shanghai where I live presently”. The enthusiasm of her Chinese colleagues, their desire to learn and to share knowledge and know-how, allowed Sabine to integrate the local scene quickly. Her early years in China also taught here some useful communication rules: “I learned, for example, that a simple and polite “yes” does not necessarily means that the person has understood and you must not hesitate to repeat yourself”. Since she arrived 15 years ago, the practice of English has progressed. The relationships you have with the Chinese authorities is still somewhat difficult unless you have some fluency in Chinese. Her advice to students tempted today by a career with a Chinese horizon, is that they seek an appointment with a foreign company.

Managing a team which comprises a majority of Chinese nationals also allowed her to discover and understand local management practice. Sabine note that her staff had a strong inclination to learn and displayed real enthusiasm for the job, but they were lacking in autonomy and the desire to take any initiatives. Much more than elsewhere, planning and regular monitoring of work in progress are fundamental to complete a project satisfactorily: “the hierarchy and a total respect for orders play a far more important role than in Europe. You simply cannot set a target without giving precisely all the methodology to be applied to get there”. Her conclusion is that in China, for the time being, the role of an individual is something that has yet to be defined.

 

Bio-Notes

1985-1989                     Graduated from UTC with the elective specialty Process Engineering

1989-1992                     Process engineer Rhône-Poulenc Fine inorganic chemicals, Lyons

1992-1996                     Process engineer Rhône-Poulenc Fibres & Polymers (Alsachimie)

1996-2000                     Process Development & Quality Control team, Aventis Cropscience, UK

2001 – 2004                  Process Site Manager, HSE & Quality (including Quality Control) for Aventis then Bayer, Hangzhou, China

2004 to date                  Regional manager Asia Pacific Region, BASF, Shanghai, China

Portraits

Le goût du challenge et de l’ailleurs

Sabine Beslay est Senior regional Manager project engineering management pour la région Asie Pacifique chez BASF à Shanghaï. Cette UTCénne diplômée en génie des procédés nous raconte son parcours professionnel riche de nombreux séjours à l’étranger.

Le goût du challenge et de l’ailleurs

Dès le collège puis le secondaire, les matières techniques et scientifiques ont la préférence de Sabine Beslay. Elle choisit d’étudier l’ingénierie pour son côté concret avec des résultats visibles rapides en s’inscrivant à l’UTC en 1985 dans la filière génie des procédés. « La chimie n’était pas mon domaine favori mais cela a représenté une porte d’entrée vers le métier d’ingénieur » confie t-elle. Elle a particulièrement apprécié la polyvalence et le caractère pratique de cette formation tournée vers l’opérationnel et la conception d’unités de production – dessin et étude dans l’espace -.

Ouverture intellectuelle et humaine
« J’en garde un très bon souvenir tant sur le plan de l’enseignement qu’humainement. L’UTC forge l’indépendance d’esprit tout en enseignant la rigueur » résume t-elle. Elle insiste sur la variété des thèmes et des sujets abordés qui lui a permis d’acquérir un large éventail de connaissances sans se disperser. Les nombreux stages en entreprises réalisés pendant son cursus ont été très valorisants pour sa vie professionnelle ultérieure. L’application directe des connaissances l’a séduite : « Mes cours préférés étaient les travaux pratiques où nous développions directement un projet complet ».

Le « melting pot » de l’UTC constitué d’étudiants issus de cursus, de milieux sociaux et de nationalités différentes a été très enrichissant. « Cela amène à une certaine ouverture d’esprit utile si l’on veut travailler à l’international » analyse la cadre supérieure. Une atmosphère de travail stimulante sans esprit de compétition à outrance a été également un des points forts de ces trois ans et demi passés à Compiègne : « Contrairement à d’autres grandes écoles, les étudiants ont du temps pour le travail en commun et les loisirs ».

Une carrière marquée par l’international
Diplômée de l’UTC en 1989, Sabine Beslay débute alors comme ingénieure procédés dans une usine de Rhône-Poulenc - devenu Aventis puis Sanofi - basée sur Lyon et produisant de la silice destinée à de nombreuses applications industrielles. « Là-bas, j’ai été confrontée à des tâches très diverses où j’ai du utiliser mon savoir acquis en cours mais aussi développer de nouvelles compétences directement sur le terrain » se souvient la manager maintenant en charge de projets répartis sur une région vaste comme l’Europe. L’autonomie, des challenges et des projets à court et moyen terme ont fait de ces débuts, des moments passionnants et marquants pour la suite de sa carrière : « Les liens et échanges avec les collègues et clients m’ont fourni beaucoup d’occasions de voyager. Eviter la routine et relever des défis est ce que j’ai constamment recherché par la suite ».

Après des fonctions en Angleterre, Sabine Beslay s’envole pour l’empire du milieu en 2000 toujours pour Aventis. Son premier contact avec ce pays a joué un rôle essentiel dans sa décision de rester : « J’ai débuté à Hangzhou, dans un cadre naturel superbe très différent de l’énorme et bruyante Shanghaï où je séjourne actuellement ». L’enthousiasme de ses collègues chinois, désireux d’apprendre et de partager, lui a permis de s’intégrer rapidement. Ces premières années chinoises lui ont également appris quelques règles de communication utiles : « J’ai compris qu’un simple « oui » poli ne signifiait pas que l’on était compris et qu’il ne fallait pas hésiter à se répéter ». Depuis son arrivée il y a 15 ans, la pratique de l’anglais en entreprise a cependant progressé. La relation avec les autorités reste cependant, selon elle, encore difficile sans maîtrise du chinois. Aux étudiants tentés par la Chine, elle conseille donc l’embauche dans une société étrangère.

L’encadrement d’une équipe composée majoritairement de Chinois lui a permis de découvrir les pratiques locales de management. Elle a noté une soif d’apprendre et un dynamisme réels mais aussi un manque d’autonomie et de prise d’initiative. Plus encore qu’ailleurs, la planification et le suivi régulier des progrès sont fondamentaux pour mener à bien un projet : « La hiérarchie et le respect des consignes jouent un rôle beaucoup plus important qu’en Europe. On ne peut pas fixer un objectif à atteindre sans donner précisément la méthodologie à appliquer ». Elle en conclut, qu’en Chine, la place de l’individu dans l’entreprise reste encore à trouver.