Opening up new paths

Odile Asselin, Head of the Learning Technologies Project with ResMed, accepts new challenges as she progresses.

Opening up new paths

Odile Asselin was attracted by and admitted to UTC after her Baccalaureate. She graduated in 1989 with the major Bio-Engineering and the elective specialty Biological Foodstuff Products (PBA). I really felt fine at UTC, which turned out to be an engineering school that corresponded exactly to my expectations! I was interested in new technologies applied to the living spheres, to health problems and at the time, UTC was the only engineering school with subjects like that on its training cursus. The relatively long placements with enterprise and the possibility to carry out semesters abroad were also ‘not to be missed’ opportunities. With hindsight, what struck me was that UTC was a great place to get one’s act together, with the open choice of courses and elective specialty”, Odile recalls. At the end of her last semester at UTC, Odile, who wanted to complete her technical training background with groundings in marketing and finance, registered for a Master’s degree at the ESSEC Business School [one of the best in Europe].

 

Finding her way

With her two HE diplomas, Odile started to work in jobs with strong relationship potential. Firstly, with Dositek, a small biotechnology-intensive start-up, where she developed company-client relationships. She then joined INTEGRA Biosciences, a German-Swiss company, as a technico-commercial engineer, the company doing very well in France, riding, so to speak, the new technology wave. “I love challenges with the idea of being able to integrate some very innovative products to the French market-place with research labs as my clients”. In 1999, a new posting and new functions saw her at Elvetec Services, Heading their Marketing Department. She was kept busy with Sales, Product range management, Event-oriented activities and the Medical biology lab scene as her market-place.

 

At the patients’ service

5 years down her career path, Odile was recruited as Product Manager for ResMed. As of this point, Odile Asselin engaged in a strong career route with ResMed, a specialist in sleep phase respiratory disorders. Profiting from her prior experience in marketing, she shifted to the training aspects as Head of an e-learning project: “I had the impression that I had accomplished lots of things and I wanted to face a new challenge, opening new doors so I accepted to start this project from scratch since at that time there was no distant learning protocol to hand”.

 

Interested as she was in managing complex projects, Odile participated in dissemination of scientific knowledge: “Beyond product training, the aim was to share clinical knowledge related to the sleep syndromes and pathologies. For example, we developed models with virtual patients, employing techniques similar to those used by the armed forces and the air-force and some university and hospitals are anxious to access our protocols!” Her training course in e-learning received the Peter Farell Award, 2013 [ed.note: founder of ResMed] “This is a prize that valorises innovation and is also a recognition of a team’s achievements with an international project that will enable us to share our know-how in the field with our clients!” In 2014, continuing to pursue her personal aims and always on the lookout for new challenges, Odile was appointed head of the Learning Technologies Project, notably with the European market-places in mind. “After working on the contents, we had to develop and deploy the dissemination platforms. I cannot stress enough the value of having done marketing and digital processing beforehand”, she insists.

 

Constantly calling oneself to question

With each new function, Odile also aimed at calling herself to question. This implied a great deal of energy and dynamics that she personally invests to create new projects and explore new horizons. “The evolution here is natural, inasmuch as the posts I held did not exist before I was offered them. What I enjoy intensely is to accept a new mission and to move on with it. It is very encouraging and pleasant to hear positive testimony from people who feel better thanks to our equipment. That, I suppose, ties in with my desire to be useful!” Her dual educational background, a blend of engineering and marketing allowed Odie to make the difference. “UTC made me quite pragmatic in my ways. I think that all engineering graduates possess a high capacity to innovate and for me the driving force was to be able to commit myself to something that really benefitted Society. In terms of employment, the ‘connected health’ concept, just like remote (e-) training schemes are taking off now and are full of promise. What we have here is a way forward that will make patients feel they are better cared for”, concludes Odile.

 

 

Bio-notes

 

1986

Admission to UTC

 

1989

Graduated with the major GB (bio-engineering) and the elective specialty Biological Foodstuff Products (PBA)

 

1990

Master’s degree from ESSEC – IGIA (the Institute for international agro-food management)

 

1991

Sales and Client Manager at Dositek

 

1993
Technico-commercial engineer with INTEGRA Biosciences

 

1999

Head of the Marketing Department at Elvetec Services

 

2005

Head of PPC Products at ResMed

2009

Head of the e-learning project at ResMed

 

2014

Head of the Learning Technologies LMS Project at ResMed

Ouvrir de nouvelles voies

Odile Asselin, chef de projet Learning Technologies chez ResMed, progresse en se fixant des défis.

Ouvrir de nouvelles voies

Intéressée par l’UTC après le Bac, Odile Asselin obtient en 1989 son diplôme en Génie Biologique, filière Produits Biologiques Alimentaires (PBA). « Je me suis vraiment trouvé bien à l’UTC, c’est une école qui correspondait parfaitement à mes attentes ! Je m’intéressais aux nouvelles technologies associées au vivant, à la biologie, à la santé et, à l’époque, l’UTC était la seule école d’ingénieur à proposer ce type de formation.  Les pratiques longues de stages en entreprise et les séjours à l’international étaient également des opportunités à saisir. Ce que j’en retiens, c’est que l’UTC est vraiment une belle école de la débrouillardise et de l’adaptation avec la possibilité de choisir ses cours et sa spécialité. » se souvient-elle. Dès la fin du dernier semestre à l’UTC, Odile poursuit ses études avec un Master de l’ESSEC, soucieuse de compléter sa formation avec des notions de marketing et de finance.

 

Trouver sa voie

Avec ses deux diplômes en poche, elle commence à multiplier les postes à fort relationnel. D’abord avec une petite start up dans le domaine des biotechnologies, Dositek, pour qui elledéveloppe les relations clients. Elle devient ensuite Ingénieur technico-commerciale pour INTEGRA Biosciences, une société suisse-allemande, qui surfe sur la vague des nouvelles technologies en France. « J’aime les défis, et l’idée c’était de pouvoir intégrer sur le marché français de produits très innovants pour les laboratoires de recherche. » En 1999, nouvelle fonction chez Elvetec Services, en tant que Responsable Marketing. Elle jongle alors avec les ventes, la gestion de gamme, l’évènementiel et le marché des laboratoires de Biologie Médicale.

 

Au service des patients

5 ans plus tard, Odile est recrutée comme Chef de produits par ResMed. Dès lors, elle se forge un véritable parcours chez ce spécialiste des solutions et des traitements contre les troubles respiratoires du sommeil. Après son expérience au service marketing, elle passe du côté formation en tant que Chef de projet e-learning : « j’avais l’impression d’avoir fait beaucoup de choses et je voulais un nouveau challenge, ouvrir de nouvelles portes et j’ai donc démarré cette activité de zéro puisqu’on n’avait pas de formation à distance à l’époque. » Intéressée par mener des projets complexes, elle participe ainsi à la diffusion des connaissances scientifiques : « au-delà de la formation produits, c’est partager des connaissances cliniques sur ces pathologies. Par exemple, on a mis au point des simulateurs de patients virtuels en s’inspirant de techniques proches de ce qui se fait dans l’armée et dans l’aéronautique, certaines universités et hôpitaux sont très demandeurs de ces technologies ! » Sa formation en e-learning recevra même le Peter Farell Award en 2013 (fondateur de ResMed N.D.L.R.). « C’est un prix qui valorise l’innovation et c’est aussi la reconnaissance du travail d’une équipe sur un projet international qui va permettre de partager notre savoir-faire auprès de nos clients ! » En 2014, dans la continuité et toujours à la recherche de nouveaux défis, Odile devient Chef de projet Learning Technologies, notamment pour le marché européen. « Après avoir développé du contenu, il fallait développer et déployer des plateformes de diffusion. Autant vous dire que mes compétences en marketing et en digital m’ont été très utiles ! » insiste t-elle.

 

Toujours se renouveler

A chaque nouvelle fonction, Odile doit ainsi se renouveler. Autant de dynamisme et d’énergie qu’elle met à profit pour créer des projets et défricher de nouveaux horizons. « C’est une évolution naturelle, les postes que j’ai occupé n’existaient pas ! Donc ce que j’aime c’est prendre une nouvelle mission, aller un peu plus loin et progresser comme ça. C’est très encourageant et agréable de recevoir des témoignages de gens qui vont mieux grâce à nos équipements. Voilà, je parlais de l’envie d’être utile, et bien c’est un peu ça ! ». Sa double formation ingénieur/marketing lui a ainsi permis de se différencier. « L’UTC m’a permis d’être assez pragmatique en fait. Je pense que les ingénieurs ont de grandes capacités d’innovation mais, pour moi, le moteur a été de réussir à faire quelque chose de vraiment profitable à la société. En terme d’emploi, la santé connectée tout comme la formation à distance sont aujourd’hui des secteurs en plein essor, très porteurs. C’est une vraie voie d’avenir pour faire en sorte que les patients soient mieux pris en charge.» conclut-elle.

Bio express

1986

Entre à l’UTC

 

1989

Diplômée en GB – filière Produits Biologiques Alimentaires (PBA)

 

1990

Diplôme de Master de l’ESSEC – IGIA (Insitut de Gestion Internationale Agroalimentaire)

 

1991

Responsable commerciale - Dositek

 

1993
Ingénieur technico-commerciale - INTEGRA Biosciences

 

1999

Responsable Marketing – Elvetec Services

 

2005

Chef de produits gamme PPC – ResMed

 

2009

Chef de projet e-learning – ResMed

 

2014

Chef de projet Learning Technologies LMS – ResMed